Posted Jan 05 2018

BAFTA Watch - WGA Announces - Peele Gets First, Sorkin Lands Fifth

Get Out is still going strong with Jordan Peele landing his first Writers’ Guild nod; Aaron Sorkin meanwhile is an old hand by now landing his fifth. Lady Bird and The Shape Of Water are still prominent in the guild noms, whilst it’s good to see The Disaster Artist getting some much deserved love. And to see Logan make a showing as well.

Dunkirk and The Post meanwhile, are both notable by their absence.

The WGA hand out their awards in a bi-coastal party from NY and LA on Feb 11.

Full list of nominations below -

The Big Sick, Written by Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani
Get Out, Written by Jordan Peele

I, Tonya, Written by Steven Rogers
Lady Bird, Written by Greta Gerwig;
The Shape of Water, Screenplay by Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor; Story by Guillermo del Toro 

Call Me by Your Name, Screenplay by James Ivory; Based on the Novel by André Aciman
The Disaster Artist, Screenplay by Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber; Based on the Book The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside the Room, the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made by Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell
Logan, Screenplay by Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green; Story by James Mangold
Molly’s Game, Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the Book by Molly Bloom

Mudbound, Screenplay by Virgil Williams and Dee Rees

Betting on Zero, Written by Theodore Braun
Jane, Written by Brett Morgen
No Stone Unturned, Written by Alex Gibney
Oklahoma City, Written by Barak Goodman


Follow us on Twitter @lastwordonearth

Other News

Latest Reviews

comments powered by Disqus