Posted Dec 11 2017

Awards, Awards And More Awards

Loads of awards action over the weekend, with Florida Project taking Best Picture from  the San Francisco Film Critics Circle, the Toronto Film Critics Association and the New York Film Critics Online (where it shared the top prize with Mudbound.) ‘Frisco had a fine acting line up with Andy Serkis, Margot Robbie, Willem Dafoe and Laurie Metcalfe all taking the honours – a line up we’re more than happy to see repeated as the season goes along.

Boston meanwhile opted for Phantom Thread for Picture, as well as Best Director for PTA and a nod for Johnny Greenwood’s fab score. Meanwhile, Get Out and The Shape of Water all still holding their own.

Here are all the winners below -

San Francisco Film Critics Circle

Best Picture
The Florida Project
Best Director
Guillermo del Toro - The Shape of Water 
Best Actor
Andy Serkis – War for the Planet of the Apes 
Best Actress
Margot Robbie – I, Tonya 
Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe – The Florida Project 
Best Supporting Actress
Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird 
Best Screenplay, Original
Get Out – Jordan Peele
Best Screenplay, Adapted
Call Me by Your Name – James Ivory
Best Cinematography
Blade Runner 2049 – Roger Deakins
Best Production Design
The Shape of Water – Paul D. Austerberry
Best Original Score
Phantom Thread – Jonny Greenwood
Best Film Editing
Baby Driver – Paul Machliss and Jonathan Amos
Best Animated Feature

Best Foreign Language Picture


Best Documentary
Faces Places 
Special Citation for under-appreciated independent cinema

Brimstone & Glory
Marlon Riggs Award for courage & vision in the Bay Area film community

Peter Bratt

 Toronto Film Critics Association

Best Picture: The Florida Project

Best Director: Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird)
Best Male Performance: Daniel Day-Lewis (Phantom Thread)
Best Female Performance: Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)
Best Male Supporting Performance: Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project)
Best Female Supporting Performance: Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird)
Best Screenplay (Adapted or Original): Get Out
Best First Feature: Get Out
Best Animated Feature: The Breadwinner
Best Documentary: Faces Places
Best Foreign Film: The Square

New York Film Critics Online

The Florida Project (A24) and Mudbound (Netflix) (tie)

Dee Rees, Mudbound

Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour

Margot Robbie, I, Tonya

Supporting Actor 
Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project

Supporting Actress 
Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Jordan Peele, Get Out

Breakthrough Performer 
Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

Debut Director 
Jordan Peele, Get Out

Ensemble Cast 
Mudbound (Netflix)

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story (Zeitgeist)

Foreign Language
In the Fade (Magnolia)

Coco (Disney/Pixar)

Dan Laustsen, The Shape of Water

Use of Music
Steven Price (music by) and Kristen Lane (music supervisor), Baby Driver

Top Ten:

Call Me by Your Name 
The Florida Project 
Get Out 
I, Tonya 
Lady Bird 
Phantom Thread 
The Post 
The Shape of Water 


Boston Film Critics Circle

Best picture: Phantom Thread

Best actor: Daniel Kaluuya for Get Out
Best actress: Sally Hawkins for The Shape of Water
Best supporting actor: Willem Dafoe for The Florida Project

Best supporting actress: Laurie Metcalf for Lady Bird

Best director: Paul Thomas Anderson for Phantom Thread

Best screenplay: Greta Gerwig for Lady Bird

Best cinematography: Hoyte Van Hoytema for Dunkirk

Best documentary: Dawson City: Frozen in Time

Best foreign-language film (awarded in memory of Jay Carr): The Square

Best animated film: Coco

Best film editing (awarded in memory of Karen Schmeer): David Lowery for A Ghost Story
Best new filmmaker (awarded in memory of David Brudnoy): Jordan Peele for Get Out

Best ensemble cast: The Meyerowitz Stories

Best original score: Jonny Greenwood for Phantom Thread


Meanwhile, over in the UK, the British Independent Film Awards were also announced, with God’s Own Country, Lady MacBeth and The Death of Stalin being the big winners –

Best British Independent Film
God’s Own Country

Best Director
Rungano Nyoni, I Am Not A Witch

Best Screenplay
Alice Birch, Lady Macbeth

Best Actress
Florence Pugh, Lady Macbeth

Best Actor
Josh O’Connor, God’s Own Country

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Clarkson, The Party

Best Supporting Actor
Simon Russell Beale, The Death Of Stalin

Most Promising Newcomer
Naomi Ackie, Lady Macbeth

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)
Rungano Nyoni, I Am Not A Witch

Debut Screenwriter
Francis Lee, God’s Own Country

Breakthrough Producer
Emily Morgan, I Am Not A Witch

The Discovery Award
In Another Life

Best Documentary
Almost Heaven

Best British Short Film
Fish Story

Best Cinematography
Ari Wegner, Lady Macbeth

Best Casting
Sarah Crowe, The Death Of Stalin

Best Costume Design
Holly Waddington, Lady Macbeth

Best Editing
Jon Gregory, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Effects
Nick Allder, Ben White, The Ritual

Best Make Up & Hair Design
Nicole Stafford, The Death Of Stalin

Best Music
Carter Burwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Production Design
Cristina Casali, The Death Of Stalin

Best Sound
Anna Bertmark, God’s Own Country

Best International Independent Film
Get Out


Follow us on Twitter @lastwordonearth

Other News

Latest Reviews

comments powered by Disqus