Posted May 25 2019

Palme D'Or Goes To Parasite...

Bong Joon-ho has walked away with top prize, the Palme d’Or, at this year’s Cannes Film Festival, (it’s 72nd) for his latest, Parasite, announced earlier by jury president Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, and presented to the South Korean director by Catherine Deneuve.

Whilst Quentin Tarantino has yet to say whether or not he accepts the hypothesis of his Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood going home empty handed, elsewhere Antonio Banderas won Best Actor for his latest collaboration with Pedro Almodovar, the largely autobiographical Pain and Glory, whilst Emily Beecham was named best Actress for Little Joe. Festival favourites the Dardenne brothers picked up Best Director for Young Ahmed. Les Miserables (no, not the one with songs) and Bacurau tied for the Jury Prize, whilst Terrence Malick was awarded the Ecumenical Jury Prize – whatever the hell that is! – for his much derided Hidden Life.

See the full list of winners below -


Palme d’Or: “Parasite,” Bong Joon-ho

Grand Prix: “Atlantics,” Mati Diop

Director: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, “Young Ahmed”

Actor: Antonio Banderas, “Pain and Glory”

Actress: Emily Beecham, “Little Joe”

Jury Prize — TIE: “Les Misérables,” Ladj Ly; “Bacurau,” Kleber Mendonça Filho

Screenplay: Céline Sciamma, “Portrait of a Lady on Fire”

Special Mention: Elia Suleiman, “It Must Be Heaven”


Camera d’Or: “Our Mothers,” Cesar Diaz

Short Films Palme d’Or: “The Distance Between the Sky and Us,” Vasilis Kekatos

Short Films Special Mention: “Monster God,” Agustina San Martin

Golden Eye Documentary Prize: “For Sama”

Ecumenical Jury Prize: “Hidden Life,” Terrence Malick

Queer Palm: “Portrait of a Lady on Fire,”  Céline Sciamma


Un Certain Regard Award: “The Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão,” Karim Aïnouz

Jury Prize: “Fire Will Come,” Oliver Laxe

Best Director: Kantemir Balagov, “Beanpole”

Best Performance: Chiara Mastroianni, “On a Magical Night”

Best Screenplay: Meryem Benm’Barek, “Sofia”

Special Jury Prize: Albert Serra, “Liberté”

Special Jury Mention “Joan of Arc,” Bruno Dumont

Coup de Coeur Award: “A Brother’s Love,” Monia Chokri; “The Climb,” Michael Angelo Covino


Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “An Easy Girl,” Rebecca Zlotowski

Europa Cinemas Label: “Alice and the Mayor,” Nicolas Parisier


Follow us on Twitter @lastwordonearth


Other News

Latest Reviews

comments powered by Disqus